Dental Care and Covid-19


Information to prepare you for your next dental appointment

Situation on June 25, 2020: D+3 after reopening

Well, not quite D+3, since our air filtration equipment only arrived on Tuesday, the 23rd, in the early afternoon. A delay in delivery of this critical equipment was one of our fears, it was unfortunately well founded! Some uniforms still haven't arrived, but, unlike the air purification system, this is not a sine qua non condition to reopen the clinic.

Now, with equipment and protocols in place since this morning, we can receive you in optimal conditions of comfort, safety and asepsis!

Here are the changes we've made to our ops for your dental care.

Enjoy the show!

Situation on June 8, 2020: D-14 before (re)opening

The big day is fast approaching and we are working hard to get everything ready in time. Our biggest challenge, making sure that the protective equipment arrives on time. So far, delivery schedules are being met.

We should receive and install the Jade air purifiers the week of June 15. They're coming in a special convoy from Toronto, we're not the only dentists impatiently waiting for them...

While waiting to see you again, we have prepared for you this short video to briefly explain the course of your next appointment in the context of social distancing measures and of reinforced asepsis.

Enjoy the show!

Situation on May 22, 2020: we will soon be able to see each other again!!!!

We are really looking forward to seeing you again soon and to be able to offer you the best dental care in a safe and welcoming environment.

Since the beginning of the crisis we are experiencing, we have established a guideline to prepare our, your, dental clinic to deal with Covid-19. We will reopen the clinic when we can confidently answer "YES" to the following two questions.

  • For our employees: do I have confidence that the measures implemented at the clinic ensure my health and safety and give me the opportunity to perform my work in the best possible conditions?
  • For our patients, do I have confidence that the measures implemented at the clinic make it a safe place that I would choose for the dental treatments of my family and loved ones?

Last Monday, we learned, along with you, the good news: the dental clinics will be able to reopen as of June 1st. However, it's very likely that we won't be ready on June 1st, here's why:

  1. The final official guidelines from the health authorities to govern the practice of dentistry in the context of Covid-19 were communicated to us on May 22nd at 16:40. Many of the proposed measures are those that we had already chosen to implement and some of our major choices go beyond the recommendations of the authorities.
  2. A lot of personal protective equipment (for you and for us) has not yet been delivered to us and some of it is still in backorder or is intended primarily for hospitals.
  3. The same goes for the equipment we ordered in mid-April to help us control aerosols during dental treatments. They are in high demand all over the world and we should only receive them around mid-June.

As a result, we are planning a limited opening for the week of June 22nd and a full opening the week of June 29th..

> What will have changed at the clinic?

While waiting for official guidelines, we have rethought the clinic's environment and our work protocols to be able to continue to care for you even during another COVID-19 outbreak period. Here are some important changes that you will find on your next visit:

  • we have installed 3 levels of air decontamination for you (and us) to ensure the healthiest environment possible.
    • First of all, more efficient suction instruments in order to reduce by 90% the volume of aerosols and droplets projected during dental treatments (watch the video).
    • Then, we equipped each of the treatment rooms as well as the common areas of the clinic with its own professional air filtration and sterilization system (including a HEPA-Rx filter and a high intensity UV-C light) which eliminates 99.99% of bio-aerosol contaminants (viruses, bacteria...). The (Canadian) technology we have chosen has already proven itself in the medical and dental fields throughout North America (watch the video).
    • And if the first two levels of air purification were not enough, we increased the filtration capacity of our heating and air conditioning system to MERV-13 (hospital level) and also added a UV-C light treatment module (destruction of bioaerosolized contaminants) on this system as well.
  • Our asepsis protocols, already among the strictest, have become even more stringent to eliminate the risk of cross-contamination as much as possible.
  • We have invested in new personal protective equipment (PPE) made in Quebec, nearly 100 in total (!). We change into new PPE between each patient. And not to make anyone jealous, there are also special ones for you too!
  • We will continue the remote consultations (for dental emergencies and other purposes) that we have been doing since mid-March in order to better identify your needs and plan your visits to the clinic more efficiently.
  • We are currently setting up a secure platform for online appointment booking (more advanced than the one we have at the moment) and another one for visio-conferencing in order to be able to carry out remote consultations in the best possible conditions.
  • Other measures are also being implemented to limit your waiting time at the beginning and end of your appointment and favour social distancing (watch the video prepared by our Belgian colleagues, which, with a few slight differences, will give you an overview of the measures we are implementing).

Better capture aerosols at the source
(PureVac system)

Air purification and sterilization
(Surgically Clean Air)

New protocols
(the example of Belgium)

Situation on April 20, 2020

soins dentaires et Covid-19

Further to the directive issued by the Ordre des Dentistes du Québec on March 15, 2020 based on the recommendations of provincial public health authorities, the clinic is closed until May 4, 2020.

However, the effective date of our return to work (which has already been postponed by the competent authorities) may be modified at any time in accordance with new ODQ guidelines for the dispensing of dental care in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic.

This global pandemic context and the prospect of having to live for many months with the virus that caused it (with periods of remission and others of resurgence) encourages us to further improve our asepsis protocols, which are already among the most rigorous in the medical world.

We are working hard to identify and implement the measures that will allow us to continue to receive you with reinforced and adapted asepsis and air treatment protocols. As always, rest assured that we strive for excellence and that the good health of everyone, patients and clinic employees, is at the centre of our concerns.

> Tips for dental pain in confinement...

First of all, don't hesitate to call us for any advice, it will be our pleasure to answer you. We take your messages and emails several times a day during the week and do voluntary phone consultations when necessary.

As the confinement continues, we want to share with you some tips to help you manage any dental discomfort that may occur before we can meet again. You can also find more information about dental problems and dental care in our Frequently Asked Questions.

In periods of stress and anxiety, there is a tendency to bruxism and more nighttime teeth clenching, which causes muscle spasms and significant pressure on the temporomandibular joints. If this happens to you, follow these tips for two weeks:

  • I'd advise you to go on a soft diet that puts less strain on those joints,
  • Don't open your mouth wide,
  • Apply warm, moist compresses to the joints: 5 to 10 minutes, 3 times a day,
  • Avoid coffee and alcohol,
  • If possible, and only if you are reasonably certain that you have not been in contact with Covid-19, take a Robax Platinum at bedtime (it contains a low dose muscle relaxant and anti-inflammatory),
  • And of course, if you have a balanced and comfortable occlusal plate, wear it religiously at night and even during the day as many hours as necessary/feasible, it will help relieve these pains.
  • Drink warm beverages whenever possible,
  • In the evening, before going to bed, do your usual ritual of brushing, flossing, brushes, etc.,
  • Then massage the base of the sensitive tooth (at the gum line) with a clean finger and the equivalent of a grain of rice of Colgate Pro Relief,
  • Spit, but don't rinse it out.
  • Drink warm beverages whenever possible,
  • Avoid chewing on the sensitive side,
  • If the sensitivity lasts more than a few days, give us a call, we'll probably have to see you soon.
  • Avoid chewing on the sensitive side,
  • wear your balanced occlusal plate if you have one.
  • if it is easily accessible, use a new and clean nail file. (Yes! I know! I can hear you exclaiming already... but this is a time of confinement and this type of problem does not qualify as a dental emergency during a pandemic),
  • If it's not accessible, get orthodontic wax from the pharmacy,
  • dry the tooth as much as possible,
  • press a small pellet of this wax on the tooth. Don't worry, if you swallow a little, it's not a problem,
  • In any case, as soon as possible, make an appointment for us to take care of it!
  • if you can put it back on the tooth, do it with Fixodent or Poligrip: these are pastes available in pharmacies and are used to stabilize dentures,
  • make sure you keep your teeth clean,
  • if possible, remove the bridge/crown for the night,
  • In any case, as soon as possible, make an appointment to have it properly cemented back in place.

Something may be stuck under the gum, such as a spice or a small piece of meat.

  • Tie a knot with dental floss,
  • In front of a mirror, floss as far below the gum as possible,
  • Then pull the dental floss far to the side to try to dislodge the piece,
  • Repeat a few times if necessary,
  • Then rinse with a mouthwash such as Listerine 0 or Peroxyl,
  • If the swelling lasts more than a few days, give us a call.
  • As soon as possible, gently replace the tooth by applying slight pressure to guide it into its socket, even if there is some bleeding,
  • give your child a soft diet for 10 days and Tylenol for pain, if needed,
  • If necessary, also apply a cold compress to the lip,
  • In case of doubt or if you have any questions, call us.

Soins dentaires et Covid-19


Information pour vous préparer à votre prochain rendez-vous dentaire

Situation au 25 juin 2020: J+3 après la réouverture

Enfin, pas tout à fait J+3, puisque nos équipements de filtration de l'air ne sont arrivés que mardi, le 23, en début d'après-midi. Un retard de livraison sur ces équipements critiques, c'était une de nos craintes, elle était malheureusement fondée! Certains uniformes ne sont toujours pas arrivés, mais, contrairement au système de purification de l'air, ce n'est pas une condition sine qua non pour rouvrir la clinique.

Maintenant, équipements et protocoles sont donc en place et depuis ce matin, nous pouvons vous recevoir dans des conditions optimales de confort de sécurité et d'asepsie!

Voici d'ailleurs à ce sujet les changements que nous avons apportés pour réaliser vos soins en salle.

Bon visionnement!

Situation au 8 juin 2020: J-14 avant la réouverture

Le grand jour s'approche et nous travaillons d'arrache-pied pour que tout soit prêt à temps. Notre plus grand défi, nous assurer que les équipements de protection arrivent à temps. Pour l'instant les échéanciers de livraison sont respectés.

Nous devrions recevoir et installer les purificateurs d'air Jade la semaine du 15 juin. Ils s'en viennent en convoi spécial depuis Toronto, nous ne sommes pas les seuls dentistes à les attendre avec impatience...

En attendant de vous revoir, nous avons préparé à votre intention la courte vidéo ci-contre pour expliquer brièvement le déroulement de votre prochain rendez-vous dans le contexte des mesures de distanciation sociale et d'Asepsie renforcée.

Bon visionnement!

Situation au 22 mai 2020: nous allons bientôt pouvoir nous revoir!!!

Nous avons vraiment hâte de vous revoir et de pouvoir à nouveau vous offrir les meilleurs soins dentaires dans un environnement sûr et accueillant.

Depuis le début de la crise que nous vivons, nous avons établi une ligne directrice pour préparer notre, votre, clinique dentaire à faire face à la Covid-19. Nous allons réouvrir la clinique quand nous pourrons en toute confiance répondre "OUI" aux deux questions suivantes.

  • Pour nos employés: est-ce que j'ai confiance dans les moyens mis en oeuvre à la clinique pour assurer ma santé, ma sécurité et me donner la possibilité d'accomplir mon travail dans les meilleures conditions?
  • Pour nos patients: est-ce que j'ai confiance dans les moyens mis en oeuvre à la clinique pour y faire soigner ma famille et les gens que j'aime?

Lundi dernier, nous avons appris, en même temps que vous, la bonne nouvelle: les cliniques dentaires vont pouvoir réouvrir à partir du 1er juin. Cependant, il est fort probable que nous ne serons pas prêts le 1er juin, voici pourquoi:

  1. Les directives officielles finales des autorités sanitaires pour encadrer la pratique de la médecine dentaire dans le contexte de la Covid-19 nous été communiquées ce 22 mai à 16:40. Nombre des mesures proposées sont celles que nous avions d'ores et déjà choisies de mettre en place et certains de nos choix majeurs vont au-delà au-delà des recommandations des autorités.
  2. De nombreux équipements de protection individuelle (pour vous et pour nous) ne nous ont pas encore été livrés et certains sont encore en rupture de stock ou destinés en priorité aux hôpitaux.
  3. Il en est de même pour les équipements que nous avons commandés mi-avril et qui vont nous aider à contrôler les aérosols lors des traitements dentaires. Ils font l'objet d'une forte demande partout dans le monde, nous devrions les recevoir seulement aux alentours de la mi-juin.

En conséquence, nous planifions donc une ouverture limitée pour la semaine du 22 juin et une ouverture complète la semaine du 29 juin.

> Qu'est-ce qui aura changé à la clinique?

En attendant les directives officielles, nous avons repensé l'environnement de la clinique et nos protocoles de travail pour pouvoir continuer de vous soigner même pendant une nouvelle période d'éclosion de la COVID-19. Voici quelques changements importants que vous allez trouver lors de votre prochaine visite:

  • nous avons installé 3 niveaux de décontamination de l'air pour vous (et nous) assurer l'environnement le plus sain possible.
    • Tout d'abord, des instruments de succion plus efficaces afin de réduire de 90% le volume d'aérosols et de goutelettes projetés lors des traitements dentaires (voir la vidéo en anglais).
    • Ensuite, nous avons équipé chacune des salles de traitement ainsi que les aires communes de la clinique d'un système professionnel de filtration et de stérilisation de l'air, (comprenant entre autre un filtre HEPA-Rx et une lumière UV-C à haute intensité) qui élimine 99.99% des contaminants bio-aérosols (virus, bactéries...). La technologie (canadienne) que nous avons choisie a déjà fait ses preuves dans le domaine médico-dentaire partout en amérique du nord (voir la vidéo en anglais).
    • Et si les deux premiers niveaux d'assainissement de l'air ne suffisaient pas, nous avons accru la capacité de filtration de notre système de chauffage et d'air conditionné au niveau MERV-13 (niveau hospitalier) et également ajouté un module de traitement par lumière UV-C (destruction des contaminants bioaérosolisés) sur ce système également.
  • Nos protocoles d'asepsie, déjà parmi les plus stricts, sont devenus encore plus draconiens pour éliminer autant que faire se peut les risques de contamination croisée.
  • Nous avons investi dans de nouveaux équipements de protection individuels (ÉPI) fabriqués au Québec, près d'une centaine en tout (!). Nous les changeons entre chaque patient. Et pour ne pas faire de jaloux, il y en a aussi spécialement pour vous!
  • Nous allons continuer les consultations à distance (pour les urgences dentaires et autre) que nous effectuons depuis la mi-mars afin de mieux cerner vos besoins et de planifier vos visites à la clinique de façon plus efficace.
  • Nous sommes en train de mettre en place une plate-forme sécurisée de prise de rendez-vous en-ligne (plus poussée que celle que nous avons en ce moment) et une autre de visio-conférence afin de pouvoir réaliser les télé-consultations dans les meilleures conditions possibles.
  • D'autres mesures sont également en cours d'implantation pour limiter votre temps d'attente au début et à la fin de votre rendez-vous et favoriser la distanciation sociale (voir la vidéo préparée par nos confrères belges, qui à quelques légères différences près, vous donnera un aperçu des mesures que nous mettons en place).

Mieux capter les aérosols à la source
(système PureVac)

Purification et stérilisation de l'air
(Surgically Clean Air)

Nouveaux protocoles
(l'exemple de la Belgique)

Situation au 16 avril 2020

soins dentaires et Covid-19

Suite à la directive émise par l'Ordre des Dentistes du Québec le 15 mars 2020 qui s'appuie sur les recommandations des autorités provinciales de santé publique, la clinique est fermée jusqu'au 4 mai 2020.

Toutefois, la date effective de notre retour au travail (qui a déjà été repoussée par les autorités compétentes), peut à tout moment être modifiée en fonction de nouvelles directives de l'ODQ relativement à la dispense de soins dentaires dans le contexte de la pandémie de Covid-19.

Ce contexte de pandémie mondiale et la perspective de devoir cohabiter pendant de longs mois avec le virus qui en est la cause (avec des périodes de rémission et d'autres de résurgence) nous incite à encore améliorer nos protocoles d'asepsie, qui sont déjà parmi les plus rigoureux du monde médical.

Nous travaillons fort pour identifier et mettre en place les mesures qui nous permettront de continuer à vous recevoir avec des protocoles d’asepsie et de traitement de l'air renforcés et adaptés à la situation. Comme toujours, soyez assurés que nous visons l’excellence et que la bonne santé de tous, patients et employés de la clinique, est au centre de nos préoccupations.

> Conseils pratiques pour maux dentaires en confinement...

Tout d'abord, n’hésitez pas à nous appeler pour tout conseil, cela nous fera plaisir de vous répondre. Nous prenons vos messages et courriels plusieurs fois par jour durant la semaine et effectuons des consultations par téléphone bénévolement quand cela est nécessaire.

Comme le confinement se prolonge, nous voulons partager avec vous quelques conseils pour vous aider à gérer des inconforts dentaires qui pourraient vous arriver avant que nous puissions nous revoir. Vous trouverez également d'autres renseignements sur les problèmes et les soins dentaires dans notre Foire aux Questions.

En période de stress et d’anxiété, on a tendance à faire plus de bruxisme et de serrement des dents nocturne, ce qui provoque des spasmes musculaires et une pression importante au niveau des articulations temporo-mandibulaires. Si cela vous arrive, suivez ces conseils pendant deux semaines:

  • privilégiez une diète molle qui sollicite moins ces articulations,
  • évitez d’ouvrir grand la bouche,
  • appliquez des compresses chaudes et humides aux articulations: 5 à 10 min, 3 fois par jour,
  • évitez le café et l’alcool,
  • si possible et seulement si vous êtes raisonnablement certain de ne pas avoir été en contact avec le Covid-19, prenez un Robax Platine au coucher (il contient un relaxant musculaire et anti-inflammatoire à faible dose),
  • et bien sûr, si vous avez une plaque occlusale équilibrée et confortable, portez la religieusement la nuit et même pendant le jour autant d’heures que nécessaire/faisable elle aidera à soulager ces douleurs.
  • privilégiez les boissons tièdes,
  • le soir, avant d’aller au lit, faites votre rituel habituel de brossage, soie, brossettes, etc.,
  • massez ensuite la base de la dent sensible (au niveau de la gencive) avec un doigt propre et l’équivalent d’un grain de riz de dentifrice Colgate Pro Relief,
  • crachez, mais ne rincez pas.
  • privilégiez les boissons tièdes,
  • évitez de mâcher du côté sensible,
  • si la sensibilité se prolonge au-delà de quelques jours, appelez-nous, on aura probablement à se revoir.
  • privilégiez le côté opposé pour manger,
  • portez votre plaque occlusale équilibrée si vous en avez une
  • si c’est facilement accessible, utilisez une lime à ongles neuve et propre. (Oui! Je sais! Je vous entends déjà vous exclamer... mais nous sommes en période de confinement et ce type de problème ne se qualifie pas comme urgence dentaire en période de pandémie),
  • si ce n’est pas accessible, procurez-vous de la cire orthodontique en pharmacie,
  • séchez la dent le plus possible,
  • pressez sur la dent une petite boulette de cette cire. Rassurez-vous, si vous en avalez un peu ce n’est pas grave,
  • dans tous les cas, dès que ce sera possible, prenez rendez-vous pour que l’on s’en occupe!
  • si vous pouvez le/la replacer sur la dent, faites-le à l’aide de Fixodent ou de Poligrip: ce sont des pâtes disponibles en pharmacie et que l’on utilise pour stabiliser les dentiers,
  • assurez vous de garder les dents propres,
  • si possible, enlevez le pont / la couronne pour la nuit,
  • dans tous les cas, dès que ce sera possible, prenez rendez-vous pour que l’on le recimente de façon adéquate!

Il se peut que quelque chose soit coincé en-dessous de la gencive, par exemple une épice ou un petit morceau de viande.

  • faites un nœud avec de la soie dentaire,
  • devant un miroir, passez la soie aussi loin en-dessous de la gencive que possible,
  • tirez ensuite la soie loin sur le côté pour essayer de déloger le morceau,
  • répétez quelques fois si nécessaire,
  • rincez ensuite avec un rince-bouche tel que Listerine 0 ou Peroxyl,
  • si l’enflure perdure au-delà de quelques jours, appelez-nous.
  • dès que possible, replacez la dent doucement en faisant une légère pression pour la guider dans son alvéole, même s’il y a un peu de saignement,
  • donnez à votre enfant une diète molle pour 10 jours et du Tylenol pour la douleur, au besoin,
  • si besoin, appliquez aussi une compresse froide sur la lèvre,
  • en cas de doute ou pour toute question, appelez-nous.